The Future of Diversity

11 - 13
DECEMBRE 2019

QUEBEC – CANADA

All over the world, people from different belongings continue to experience inequalities. While some groups are discriminated against in their search for work and in the workplace, others enjoy a set of privileges, often without even realizing it. This should force us to take action and create more equal labour markets. Thus, in autumn 2017, Éric Charest of the École nationale d’administration publique (ENAP) and Christine Kuptsch of the International Labour Organization (ILO) launched the “The Future of Diversity” project, in which researchers and ILO officials joined forces to reflect on the challenges in the fight against discrimination in employment.

This discussion will continue from December 11th to 13th, 2019, when the results of their works will be shared at The Future of Diversity international conference, which will be held at the ENAP campus in Quebec City. This event is part of the ILO’s centenary activities, and reflects some of its most fundamental commitments to workers.

Vision of the future

The Future of Diversity international conference is intended as a forum to enrich the understanding of the issue of diversity in the workplace. It also seeks to engage its participants in a reflection on the future of diversity. We quote the physicist Neils Bohr: “Prediction is very difficult, especially about the future.” By fostering a social dialogue between more than two hundred participants, ranging from elected officials, citizens, researchers, practitioners, and students, to representatives of employers’ and workers organizations, and NGOs, the collective intelligence that will emerge from The Future of Diversity will foster a dynamic social dialogue, that will be able to meet this challenge.

Concept
of diversity

The concept of “diversity” usually describes the character, quality or condition of people thought of as “different“. This difference, which is measured according to many variables, such as sex, skin pigmentation, sexuality, etc., tacitly suggests the presence of norms. In most jobs or industrial sectors, we often have a collective image of the “typical worker“. Those who do not resemble this image are the “others“, who are more at risk of having to overcome obstacles in seeking work, maintaining employment, and experiencing more or less subtle forms of violence in the workplace. 

École nationale
d’administration publique

The École nationale d’administration publique (ENAP) is a francophone university and a member of the Université du Québec network. Founded in 1969, and celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, it has a dual mission: teaching and advancing research in public administration, and training and developing public administrators. It is also a leader in consulting services to governments. ENAP has ten research chairs and groups in diverse fields, ranging from international relations, leadership, program evaluation, health systems transformation, and urban resilience governance. Since its inception, it has exported its expertise abroad, having helped train more than 1,000 managers, trainers and advisors, supported the development of public management schools and programs, and carried out major international cooperation projects in more than 30 countries.

International Labour Office

The International Labour Office is the permanent secretariat of the International Labour Organization (ILO), the only tripartite organization of the United Nations, and the oldest international organization in the world. Founded in 1919, following World War I, the ILO’s mission is based on the principle that social justice cultivates peace. Today, the ILO brings together governments, workers and employers from 187 Member States. It defends workers’ rights by promoting social dialogue, and ensuring that the views of trade unions, employers’ organisations and governments are accurately reflected in labour standards, policies and employment programmes. The ILO is also a global provider of labour statistics, which play an essential role in the development and evaluation of policies to ensure decent working conditions for all.

Contributors

Conference

Books

Resources

Contact

Menu

Le futur de la diversité

11 - 13
DÉCEMBRE 2019

QUÉBEC – CANADA

Partout dans le monde, on observe des inégalités plus ou moins marquées entre les individus en fonction de leurs appartenances. Alors que certains groupes sont victimes de discriminations dans leur parcours vers et en emploi, d’autres jouissent d’un ensemble de privilèges, souvent, sans même le réaliser. Ce constat devrait nous obliger à l’action, afin de remédier à ces situations et créer des marchés du travail plus égalitaires. À l’automne 2017, Éric Charest de l’École nationale d’administration publique (ENAP), et Christine Kuptsch  de l’Organisation internationale du Travail (OIT), donnaient donc le coup d’envoi au projet « Le futur de la diversité », où chercheurs et fonctionnaires de l’OIT joignaient leurs forces pour réfléchir les défis en matière de lutte contre les discriminations à l’emploi.

Cette réflexion se poursuivra du 11 au 13 décembre 2019, alors que les résultats de leurs travaux seront diffusés au colloque international Le futur de la diversité, qui se tiendra au campus de l’ENAP à Québec. Cet évènement s’insère dans le cadre des activités du centenaire de l’OIT, et reflète certains de ses engagements les plus fondamentaux à l’endroit des travailleurs.

Vision du futur

Le colloque international Le futur de la diversité se veut un forum pour enrichir la compréhension de l’enjeu de la diversité dans le milieu du travail. Il convie également ses invités à entreprendre une réflexion sur l’avenir de la diversité. Nous citons le physicien Neils Bohr : « La prédiction est un art difficile, surtout lorsqu’elle concerne le futur ». Avec ses plus de deux cents participants – élus, citoyens, chercheurs, praticiens, étudiants, et représentants patronaux, syndicaux, et d’ONG – Le futur de la diversité favorisera un dialogue social dynamique, duquel pourra émerger une intelligence collective à la hauteur de ce défi.

Concept de la diversité

Le concept de « diversité » décrit habituellement le caractère, la qualité ou la condition de tout ce que nous jugeons « différent ». Cette différence, qui s’apprécie en fonction de nombreuses variables, telles le sexe, la pigmentation de la peau, la sexualité, etc., pose tacitement l’idée d’une normativité. Dans la plupart des emplois ou secteurs industriels, nous aurions souvent collectivement une image du « travailleur-type ». Celles et ceux qui ne correspondent pas à cette image seraient les « autres », qui sont plus à risques de devoir surmonter des obstacles en matière d’intégration et de maintien en emploi, mais aussi, plus susceptibles d’être les victimes de violences plus ou moins subtiles dans les milieux de travail.

École nationale
d’administration publique

L’École nationale d’administration publique (ENAP) est un établissement universitaire, membre du réseau de l’Université du Québec. Fondée en 1969, et célébrant son cinquantième anniversaire cette année, elle a pour double vocation l’enseignement et l’avancement de la recherche en administration publique, et la formation et le perfectionnement d’administrateurs publics. Elle est aussi un chef de file dans le domaine du service-conseil aux gouvernements. L’ENAP réunit dix chaires et groupes de recherche dans des champs diversifiés, passant par les relations internationales, le leadership, l’évaluation des programmes, à la transformation des systèmes de santé, et la gouvernance de la résilience urbaine. Depuis ses tout débuts, elle exporte son expertise à l’étranger, ayant contribué à former plus de 1 000 gestionnaires, formateurs, et conseillers, appuyé le développement d’écoles et de programmes de gestion publique, et réalisé des projets majeurs de coopération internationale dans plus de 30 pays. 

Le Bureau international du Travail

Le Bureau international du Travail est le secrétariat permanent de l’Organisation internationale du Travail (OIT), la seule organisation tripartite des Nations Unies, et la plus ancienne organisation internationale au monde. Fondée en 1919, à la suite de la Première guerre mondiale, la mission de l’OIT s’appuie sur le principe que la justice sociale cultive la paix. Aujourd’hui, l’OIT rassemble les gouvernements, travailleurs et employeurs de 187 États membres. Elle défend les droits des travailleurs en favorisant le dialogue social, et en veillant à ce que les points de vue des syndicats, des organisations patronales, et des gouvernements, soient fidèlement reflétés dans les normes du travail, et les politiques et les programmes d’emplois. L’OIT est également un fournisseur mondial de statistiques du travail, qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans le développement et à l’évaluation des politiques visant à garantir à tous des conditions de travail décentes.

Contributeurs

Colloque

Livres

Ressources

Nous joindre

Menu